Page updated 5/21/17
Photograph by Deby Fredericks

Welcome to the Home of

My Blog

"Sirrush, Dragon of Babylon"

King Nebuchadnezzar II ruled the Babylonian Empire between 634 and 562 B.C.E. As his conquests mounted, he wanted to secure his capital and inspire awe at the same time. To do this, he build a wall around Babylon that supposedly was wide enough to race chariots on top. Visitors to the city had to pass through one of several magnificent gates.

The most famous of these is the Ishtar Gate. Excavated in 1904, it holds reliefs of several animals representing gods in the Babylonian pantheon. There are lions representing Ishtar (goddess of love), bulls representing Adad (god of storms), and the chief god, Marduk, represented by a strange creature called the sirrush.
Read the whole post

On Twitter

Want to get all my tweets?
Just follow me!

Latest News

My book of the month is Too Many Princes!

Aunt Ursula's Atlas is in the virtual stores  for Nook, Kobo, and iTunes. Amazon has its own link. Trade paperback is still in the works.

Want to join my e-mail list? Click on Contact, above, and follow the subscription link!